Snowie Block Ice or Southern Snow?

Click here for topics regarding both block and cube shave ice machines!
snoopsshavedice

Tue May 29, 2018 5:28 am

Hello! I am new to the business and just getting started opening a shaved ice trailer. I have purchased the Snowie block ice shaver but upon some more research and reading im worried I didn't buy the right machine... Does anyone have any advice or experience with the snowie block ice shaver? I'm considering switching machines to the Southern Snow Ice Shaver... Thank you in advance!!
IceClouds

Tue May 29, 2018 9:54 am

Yes, yes i do. I bought the snowie ice block shaver a couple months ago and just sold it on eBay a couple of weeks ago. The machine is super easy to use and i love that it can hold 10lb blocks but it made the worst shaved ice. It was more of a softer crunchy snow cone then shaved ice. I now just break my 10lb blocks apart and use my trusty swan which always gives me the shaved ice i want my customers to have. I have never used the southern machine though.
ShaveIce

Tue May 29, 2018 11:36 am

Snowie blocks, Swan, and Southern Snow are different types of machines. Southern Snow is more of a sno ball sno cone shaver. Snowie's blocks are more of a shaved ice/sno cone type of machine. Swan's are more Hawaiian shave ice.

If you want to sell Hawaiian styled, believe me, a slower shave is better and more authentic. If you just want to sell "shaved ice" then a Snowie is fine. It depends on how you advertise your shave ice.
www.shaveiceshaveice.com
Forum for Hawaiian shave ice, shave ice supplies, shave ice flavors, and shave ice machines.
Loopdan

Tue May 29, 2018 12:33 pm

The Japanese/Hawaiian style machines are easier to get a good shave with, but if you learn to finesse the New Orleans style machines, you'll get just as good a shave and it'll be much much faster.
TWH

Wed May 30, 2018 12:35 am